[Sheet Music]

Lesson 24: Scales/ Tone Sets

Major Type Scales

The major type scales are:

  • Major or the Ionian Mode
  • The Lydian Mode

or from C to C:

Minor Type Scales

The minor type scales are:

  • Natural Minor or the Aeolian Mode
  • Harmonic Minor
  • Melodic Minor or Jazz Minor
  • The Dorian Mode
  • The Phrygian Mode

or from C to C:

Dominant Type Scales

The dominant type scales are:

  • The Mixolydian Mode
  • Lydian b7 or Overtone
  • The Alt Scale
  • Phrygian Major = the 5th mode of the Harmonic Minor scale
  • Mixolydian b6
  • The 2nd mode of the Melodic Minor scale - for a susb9 sound

or from C to C:

The Bebop Scales

The bebop scales are:

  • The Bebop Major
  • The Bebop Dorian
  • The Bebop Dominant

or from C to C:

Special Scales

Special scales are:

  • Whole Tone
  • Diminished
  • Chromatic

or from C to C:

Pentatonic Scales

Pentatonic scales:

  • The Major Pentatonic
  • The Minor Pentatonic
  • Hybrid Pentatonic - aka Dominant Pentatonic

or from C to C:

The Blues Scale

The blues scale is a very special case:

You can add notes to the blues scale and get a hybrid blues scale:

This scale can be obtained by mixing the blues scale from the tonic and the blues scale from the relative to the tonic. Take a C blues scale: C, Eb, F, F#, G, Bb, C and mix it with the A blues scale: A, C, D, Eb, E, G, A and you get the hybrid blues scale...

2004 Tomas Karlsson. All rights reserved.